Ms. Mix & Bitch’s Confession #14: Help! My Kid’s Reading My Blog

I probably should have put this together way before now.  Call me slow.  Sweet Pea’s 10 years old, and like most kids her age, she’s online trolling around just like the big kids do.  However, up until recently, all she’s been interested in is, like, Disney Channel and Webkins and other such age-appropriate garbage I can’t believe people get paid to program.  Anyway, over the weekend – the dreadfully cold, rainy and miserable weekend with very little to do – she strolled into my room and casually asked, “So your blog is Mix Tape Therapy dot com, right?”

“Um, yeah…why do you ask?”

“Oh, no reason,” she replies, then dashes out of the room faster than a Mexican tourist with the runs. 

Sweet Pea comes back about 5 minutes later, asking me about her nickname on my blog, and did I really like Katy Perry and why is she with a guy who likes all those girls, and what’s the movie,  Saturday Night Fever about, and what does it mean when someone comes out and on and on and on.

“So, you’re reading my blog now?”

“Yeah, you sure curse a lot, Mom.”

“Well, I curb myself in real life. Do I get extra credit points for that?”

She just laughed.  “So, can I read some more?”

Now, I’m stuck.  I mean, I don’t want to censor her, but I’m also not up for explaining about some of the stranger sexual proclivities of my readers either.  I’d like for her to stay 10 for as long as possible, if you know what I mean.

“Well, to tell you the truth, honey, some of the stuff I write about is very grown-up.  I’d like for you to read it all someday, but there’s a more foul-mouthed, racier side to me online that I’m not up for you meeting right now. Ok?”

She rolled her eyes and said, “Oh Mom, I know all your sides.  I know you’ve got a potty mouth.”

“Hmm, uh…yeah. About that.  It’s more than just curse words.  Just wait a few years,  k?”

She said she wouldn’t read anymore, but if I were her, I’d be reading every single word on the down lo.  I probably should have just let her read it. Now I’ve made it “forbidden fruit” which means I’ve made this blog more enticing than it actually is. Stupid, stupid me…

So I’m constantly spewing out advice like vomit.  What do you think I should’ve done?  Really. I want to know.

 

 

 

9 responses to “Ms. Mix & Bitch’s Confession #14: Help! My Kid’s Reading My Blog

  1. I don’t have kids so I imagine you and everyone with children will just roll your eyes and skip this… 🙂

    …but I don’t think there’s a “should have done”. Maybe rest easy with your first instinct, which was to tell (ask?) her not to read the blog. I imagine your mom’s intuition will also let you know if/when she does read the blog – then you can deal with that and all the questions she may have.

    Or should non-child-bearing people just shut up? 🙂

  2. I never mind when people without kids chime in – as long as they don’t come off as a ‘child-rearing authority.’ Those kind bug me.

    But you’re self-depracating and lovely, so you can pipe in anytime 😉

  3. Is it too late to change your URL? I think I’d be forced to do that.

    My young cousin found my blog and I blocked her IP address, but that’s out of the question too.

  4. I didn’t even know you could block an IP address. Man, I need to learn more about computers.

  5. I can’t help but think that 10 year-olds these days are far more savvy than we were at age 14 or 15. They have access to information in ways we couldn’t have dreamed of… and yeah, it does kind of take some of the magic out of childhood, but trying to keep them sheltered doesn’t work either.

    Personally, I think it’s great that she’s discovering your blog! She gets to see that in spite of the cursing and some of the generally inappropriate-for-her-age topics, people genuinely come to you for advice… and that maybe, just maybe, mom is both cooler and wiser than she gave you credit for. If you write about things she isn’t really ready to handle yet, then she’ll ask questions and you’ll handle it the same way you would if she heard someone at the mall having the conversation at the table next to her. Lord knows I had a pretty decent working knowledge of things way out of my league as early as elementary school just from hearing other kids at the bus stop talk about it.

    That’s my two cents… coming from someone who doesn’t have kids of her own, but has watched friends go through similar experiences as their children grow up. (most of them girls, and most of them clustered around that 8-12 age group)

  6. Irony # 1: All that responded to this don’t have kids. Cost of First Epiphany – $0

    Irony #2: Childless responders truly believe that experience with others’ children qualifies as direct experience. Cost of Second Epiphany – $0

    Getting the possible chance to see if these views hold up once they have kids of their own?

    Priceless.

    • Oh, I don’t plan on having kids. Mostly because I’d be too worried about them reading my blog.

      But I’d also disagree with #2. Not to speak for anyone else but the answer I gave wasn’t because any experience I had with other people’s kids qualifies as direct experience, but because you asked without qualification and I cared enough to answer.

  7. Ok,I know I’m a little late to the game, but here’s some advice from an actual mom of an actual little girl:

    Parental Controls on the computer are pretty easy to set up – easiest on a Mac but also doable on a PC. You can set her up as a user/account and set definitions as to where she can and can’t go online. With a Mac, you are also able to view all her online activity as well, if that’s something you choose to do. :o)

  8. Becca,

    I was just being a smart-ass, as usual. I’m always quite thrilled when you throw your hat into my virtual ring here 🙂

    I actually told her she can read it now if she wants, but then I shared with her just a bit of the subject matter – and her eyes grew wide – and SHE has decided she wants to wait.

    So there it is…

Leave a Reply

