Who Let the Dog Lover Out?

Dear Ms. Mix & Bitch,

I know I’m setting myself up for some ridicule by asking this question, but for me it’s a real problem, and I need your help.

I recently met a man that I’m crazy about, which doesn’t happen very often for me.  He’s sweet and funny, has a good job, and even volunteers at an animal shelter on the weekends (that’s how we met).  We went out once and it was an almost perfect evening. I say “almost” because I found out he’s a cat person. In fact, he says he has four cats. While I love animals in general, I’m really a dog person, and to tell you the truth, cat people weird me out. The fact that this guy has four cats REALLY weirds me out.

After we went out, he called me the next day to ask me out again.  I told him I was going out of town for a conference (which is actually true), so he told me to call him when I get back so we could make plans. While I was away, I thought a lot about this, and I’m still torn. I really do like him, and I know I sound like a jerk, but the cat thing really bothers me. My ex husband – who was a louse – was also a cat person, but I don’t think this has anything to do with it. I just don’t trust cat people.  What should I do?

Signed, Dodging in Dogtown

“Uh hey, can I take my lame issues in a doggie bag to go, please?”

Dear Dame Doggie,

If it’s going to sound as if I’m being rough on you, it’s because I am.  And I am going to make this short as well.

Unless you were attacked by a rabid band of cats when you were a defenseless child, using the excuse that you won’t go out with a great guy because he likes cats is as lame as it comes.  Really. And you know that, don’t you? 

Men who like and care for animals are almost as high on my list as men who genuinely like hanging out with their kids.  Both are more rare than those deceptive men’s fragrance ads would have you believe. Now, I’m not saying that this is your dream man, but how are you going to know otherwise after just one date?

If they can get along, maybe you two can as well?

If they can get along, maybe you two can as well?

Oh and BTW, the fact that you don’t trust men with cats has EVERYTHING to do with your ex husband. But lumping all Y chromosomed, kitty kat Jacks together as the nebulus evil force in the dating world is just completely self defeating and dumb. Give this guy a chance…and even more importantly, give YOURSELF the chance to be happy with someone besides your slobbery, four legged friends.

What have you got to lose but a night out?

10 responses to “Who Let the Dog Lover Out?

  1. Pingback: Misc. « distillation

  2. This is a tough one. While I found your answer very amusing and totally agreed with you on this particular subject (I have cats (and a dog!) and I have always felt like ‘cat people’ sometimes get a bad wrap compared to their cooler dog person counterparts…) I have to wonder if your answer would have been the same if the guy she had met, had 7 snakes that he was really fond of and let slither all around the house? What if he was a big fan of spiders and liked a huge tank of them in his bedroom at night. Would we all still say, “Give this guy a break!” or would we feel more compassionate towards her reluctance…also I should mention here that I would have no problem not going out with a guy who HATED cats- is that fair?

    By the way- this is my first time posting on your glorious site. I think you are wonderful!

  3. Oh I hear ya…it’s the old argument that if you saw a butterfly and a cockroach coming towards you, what would you do – with most people answering delight in the butterflies’ presence and disgust at the roach. Even though they’re both insects…we judge value by what appeals to us.

    Now for all you cat lovers out there, I am NOT equating roaches to cats…

    I actually have met people with lots of snakes running around their homes – and they’re pretty funky fabulous. Spiders maybe not.

    I guess my point is…if you meet someone you click with, well, we all know how hard that is…and I just think that chemistry should trump something like pet preference. I just think she’s scared, because she never said that the guy was weird, she just thought him loving cats was off. I think people usually know the answers when they write in; they’re jsut looking for a well-meaning kick in the ass.

    And as far as your question about not wanting to go out with people who hate cats…well, I think anyone with a hate thing going on over something as innocuous as cats has some issues. Excluding the haters is one thing – excluding the caregivers are another 😉

    Hope to hear more from you in the future..thanks for the ego petting.

  4. I’m a dog girl that married a cat man. Now we are proudly “Animal Lovers.”

    He cleans the litter box, though. 🙂

  5. Thank you, Ms. Mix & Bitch, for the “kick in the ass” – and thank you to your readers for their comments.

    I just call my cat man and we’re going out on Saturday night. I will keep you all posted!

    “Dame Doggie”

  6. I like cats and I’m a weirdo. Stay away from our kind.

  7. Thanks for saying something, Lucas – because I wasn’t going to say anything, but…

  8. I think you made the right choice. Hope all goes well. Also, I could not agree with Ms. Mix & B more in regards to how hard it is to meet someone you click with and that should trump a pre-conceived notion due to past experience.

  9. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  10. My dog has learned to love his kitty sister… she was a shelter rescue. I couldn’t help it, she was so fat and happy, I just had to take her home 🙂

Leave a Reply

