Mama’s Got a Brand New Bag

Now I’ve seen everything.

A new book has just come out – and I quote this from Big Tent Books’ website – “the book that helps kids cope with mommy’s plastic surgery.”

Otherwise known as “Sorry your mom is such a narcisstic freak and using your college fund to suck the fat off her ass, kid. Maybe there’ll be enough left over to pay for your therapy down the line. Unless she gets that brow lift.  Then you’re screwed.”

I’m actually NOT anti-plastic surgery. Whatever it takes to make yourself feel good, as long as its in reason.  And maybe the book handles the subject with tact and humor. It is NOT fair for me to criticize a book I haven’t read…we have the Christian Coalition for stunts like that…

I just have an issue with yet ANOTHER cultural device – especially a children’s book – which focuses on the flaws and fixes “needed” for women to feel “beautiful.”  I’m raising two girls and while I don’t believe in having them live with a blindfold on, I am getting tired of having to sit down with them and explain/dissect/discuss the negative messages inherent in so much they see and read. 

Girls like Miley, Britney, and Lindsay are certainly not making my job any easier.

Besides, whether I’m all dolled up or waking up with my hair standing straight up, my girls are always telling me I’m their beautiful mommy – even when I don’t feel that way.  They see me – as I see them – through the lens of unconditional love and acceptance.

But society is not viewed through the lens of an adoring child…it’s through the peep hole of the patriarchy…and while I think in some ways we’re evolving towards equality, we’ve got a long ways to go.

Just look at how the media’s treating my girl, Hillary. And if you think reactions to her are not gender based – and the press and public have not shown deep misogynistic tendencies – then you’re blind. And kinda dumb. You don’t have to like her, but I ask you to examine the reasons WHY you don’t. But I digress…

Anyway, here’s a mix to match my rant for the night…

5. “Mama,” [My Chemical Romance] The Black Parade.

4. “Mama,” [Genesis] Genesis.

3. “Things a Mama Don’t Know,” [Mica Roberts] Things a Mama Don’t Know.

2. “Mama Cried,” [Alison Krauss & Union Station] New Favorite.

1. “Mama Who Bore Me,” [Lea Michele] Spring Awakening Original Broadway Cast.

 

 

 

4 responses to “Mama’s Got a Brand New Bag

  1. FINALLY, someone has called bullshit on this book. For the last 29 years I’ve thought my mother was beautiful, although she’s gained weight and doesn’t look like she did at my age, but she was a hot mama through my childhood and teens. I think she’s perfect just the way she is. Also, Caren, you’ve got terrific girls. I envy you that.

    Mix on, babes.

  2. I saw this book on the Today Show and the concept made me feel ill (or was it the pregnancy hormones?)

    This will likely be a best-seller here in Manhattan. Maybe we should move away before my daughter is born!?

  3. Whoa mama – you’re sooo rad. If you were a dude, I would so be out on your front lawn right now – holding up a boombox, playing you a mix…

    …waiting for the police to be called. 😉

  4. Maybe I should get that for Phoenix and Maya..:)

Leave a Reply

