These are a Few of My Favorite Things…

Girl listening to Music

So I  got a letter recently from an anonymous writer, asking me for a list of my favorite songs, my own “top ten” so to speak.  Good question – and a break from the bucket-load of questions from people either wanting to be in threesomes, or recovering from their threesome experiences. Really people. Menage a trois’ are so 1975. Get over them already.

So here ya go – my own personal mix – not in any particular order – just too damm hard:

“Blue in Green,” Miles Davis [Kind of Blue]

Miles Davis

I tend to play this song on warm, rainy days with a bottle of good red in hand – and I’m usually either feeling absolute contentment or enveloping melancholy.

“A Distorted Reality is Now a Necessity to be Free,” Elliott Smith [From a Basement on a Hill]

Elliott Smith

While I discovered this song during one of the worst times of my life – trying to crawl out of the mental hole of a major depressive disorder, I still keep this song as a favorite because in spite of the appearance of balance, I’m really anything but. Sort of a swan song for all of us that have felt “in between” and nowhere all at once, almost all the time.

“Afro Blue,” John Coltrane [Afro Blue Impressions]

 Need to get out of a creative rut? If this masterpiece doesn’t do it, then nothing will

“Best Friends,” Ron Sexsmith [Cobblestone Runway]

ron sexsmith

I can’t be in a bad mood when this song plays – an exquisite sketch of what being with your soulmate really feels like.

Tie Between “Take It From Me,” The Weepies [Say I Am You] and “Brothers on a Hotel Bed,” Death Cab for Cutie [Plans]

The Weepies               death cab for cutie

Jesus, I don’t know why, but these songs just break and heal my jaded heart at the same time. I guess one’s a beginning and the other, a bittersweet ending.

“Flamenco Sketches,” Miles Davis [Kind of Blue]

Miles Davis

This song always seems to come on when David and I are at a cozy table, drinking either wine or coffee, while in the perfect urban landscape. I see it as foreplay for grown-ups.

“Parisian Dream,” Laura Veirs [Year of Meteors]

Laura Veirs

I absolutely worship and adore Laura Veirs. Her songs are this lyrical, tangled mess with offbeat music to match. She’s fucking brilliant. And I can’t believe her songs are not in every cool indie movie out there. This entire album is genius, but I like this one in particular because it’s her ode to love in Paris. A very close second off the same album was “Spelunking.” Every woman trying to trust someone can identify with this truth serum of a song.

“I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know,” Donny Hathaway [Extension of a Man]

It’s just a classic – every woman wants a man to love her this much.

“Tell Your Story Walking,” Deb Talan [Sincerely]

Sincerely

I’m a big fan of a good “fuck off and die” song – this one’s just done in a classier, more literate fashion than others in my cannon.

“When a Woman Loves a Man,” Billie Holiday [Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday]

Billie Holiday

Another one that just breaks my heart, yet makes me chuckle too (“Tell her she’s a fool, she’ll say yes, I know, but I love him so). Ah Billie, Billie, Billie – you were such a mess, and that voice. Jesus freakin’ Christ. If I could sing like anyone, it would be like you.

“She’s a Jar,” Wilco [Summerteeth]

If the tree is my personal totem, then this song is the theme on my soundtrack. “She a jar, with a heavy lid – my pop quiz kid. A sleepy kisser, a pretty war, with feelings hid. She begs me not to miss her…” Yep, that’s me in a nutshell.

Next time – guilty pleasures – and trust me, they’re bad. Deliciously dorky.

 

3 responses to “These are a Few of My Favorite Things…

  1. There’s one special secret Sale link on Amazon:

    http://tinyurl.com/2r7ldr

    This is open every Friday and ONLY on Fridays!

    You can find very good discounts here, although some Fridays you can really get
    lucky and make off like an Amazon bandit – I´ve seen discounts there as low as 75%
    off sticker Price.

  2. This site truly amazing!!!

  3. Great list! In places, it looks like you pilfered my record collection!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

